Skip to product information
1 of 1

New Press

Abandoned: America's Lost Youth and the Crisis of Disconnection

Abandoned: America's Lost Youth and the Crisis of Disconnection

Regular price $23.28 USD
Regular price $25.98 USD Sale price $23.28 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

238 in stock

Winner of the 2020 Goddard Riverside Stephan Russo Book Prize for Social Justice

A deeply affecting exposé of America's hidden crisis of disconnected youth, in the tradition of Matthew Desmond and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc

For the majority of young adults today, the transition to independence is a time of excitement and possibility. But 4.5 million young people--or a stunning 11.5 percent of youth aged sixteen to twenty-four--experience entry into adulthood as abrupt abandonment, a time of disconnection from school, work, and family. For this growing population of Americans, which includes kids aging out of foster care and those entangled with the justice system, life screeches to a halt when adulthood arrives. Abandoned is the first-ever exploration of this tale of dead ends and broken dreams.

Author Anne Kim skillfully weaves heart-rending stories of young people navigating early adulthood alone, in communities where poverty is endemic and opportunities almost nonexistent. She then describes a growing awareness--including new research from the field of adolescent brain science--that emerging adulthood is just as crucial a developmental period as early childhood, and she profiles an array of unheralded programs that provide young people with the supports they need to achieve self-sufficiency.

A major work of deeply reported narrative nonfiction, Abandoned joins the small shelf of books that change the way we see our society and point to a different path forward.



Author: Anne Kim
Publisher: New Press
Published: 02/11/2020
Pages: 208
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.50h x 5.80w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9781620975008

Review Citation(s):
Booklist 12/01/2019 pg. 4
Kirkus Reviews 12/01/2019 pg. 138
Publishers Weekly 12/09/2019
Shelf Awareness 03/24/2020
Choice 11/01/2020

About the Author

Anne Kim is a writer, lawyer, and public policy expert with a long career in Washington, DC-based think tanks working in and around Capitol Hill. She is also a contributing editor at Washington Monthly, where she was a senior writer. Her work has appeared in the Washington Post, Governing, TheAtlantic.com, the Wall Street Journal, Democracy, and numerous other publications. She lives in northern Virginia.

View full details