Skip to product information
1 of 1

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ana on the Edge

Ana on the Edge

Regular price $15.18 USD
Regular price $16.98 USD Sale price $15.18 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

41 in stock

Perfect for fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World: a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary character navigating a binary world.

Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms fast. Still, Ana tries to focus on training and putting together a stellar routine worthy of national success.

Once Ana meets Hayden, a transgender boy new to the rink, thoughts about the princess program and gender identity begin to take center stage. And when Hayden mistakes Ana for a boy, Ana doesn't correct him and finds comfort in this boyish identity when he's around. As their friendship develops, Ana realizes that it's tricky juggling two different identities on one slippery sheet of ice. And with a major competition approaching, Ana must decide whether telling everyone the truth is worth risking years of hard work and sacrifice.

Author: A. J. Sass
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 10/20/2020
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 7.70h x 5.50w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9780316458610
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.4
Point Value: 9
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 510674 / Ana on the Edge


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 09/14/2020
Booklist 09/01/2020 pg. 86
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2020
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2020 pg. 111
Kirkus Reviews 01/01/0001
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2020 - Superior,Well Above Average

About the Author
A. J. Sass (he/them) is a writer, editor, and competitive skater. A long-time figure skater, he has passed his U.S. Figure Skating Senior Moves in the Field and Free Skate tests, medaled twice at the U.S. Synchronized Skating Championships, and currently dabbles in ice dance. A. J. lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his boyfriend and two cats who act like dogs. Ana on the Edge is his first novel.

View full details