Chlorine Sky

Chlorine Sky

Regular price
$17.94
Sale price
$17.94
Regular price
$17.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless. -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

Author: Mahogany L. Browne
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Published: 01/12/2021
Pages: 192
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.66lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.60w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780593176399
Age Range: 14-UP

Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 11/01/2020 pg. 63
Kirkus Reviews 11/01/2020
Publishers Weekly 11/16/2020
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 01/01/2021 - Book Of Special Distinction

About the Author
Mahogany L. Browne is a California-born, Brooklyn-based writer, educator, activist, mentor, and curator. She has published several books of poetry, and she is an Urban Word NYC Artistic Director (as seen on HBO's Brave New Voices), founder of Women Writers of Color Reading Room, and Director of BLM@Pratt Programming, and facilitates performance poetry and writing workshops throughout the country.

Mahogany's poetry picture books include Black Girl Magic and Woke Baby.