Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters

Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters

Regular price
$27.95
Sale price
$27.95
Regular price
$27.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes.

Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system--and her fraught relationship with its expectations--was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover.

From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters--one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it--and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

Author: Andrew Morton
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Published: 03/30/2021
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.36lbs
Size: 9.30h x 6.40w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781538700464

Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 10/01/2020 pg. 52
Publishers Weekly 02/01/2021
Kirkus Reviews 02/01/2021
Booklist 02/15/2021 pg. 13
Library Journal 03/01/2021 pg. 94

About the Author
Andrew Morton studied history at the University of Sussex, England, with a focus on aristocracy and the 1930s. Morton has written extensively on celebrity including biographies of Tom Cruise, Angelina Jolie, and Madonna, as well as the British royal family. He has written bestselling biographies of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, Prince Andrew, and Meghan Markle. His #1 New York Times bestselling biography Diana: Her True Story won international acclaim, described by critics as a "modern classic" and "the closest we will ever come to her autobiography."