Every Bird a Prince

Every Bird a Prince

Regular price
$17.99
Sale price
$17.99
Regular price
$17.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A girl's quest to save a forest kingdom is intertwined with her exploration of identity in Every Bird a Prince, a gorgeous middle-grade contemporary fantasy by Jenn Reese, the award-winning author of A Game of Fox & Squirrels, perfect for fans of Josephine Cameron and Barbara O'Connor.

The only time Eren Evers feels like herself is when she's on her bike, racing through the deep woods. While so much of her life at home and at school is flying out of control, the muddy trails and the sting of wind in her face are familiar comforts.

Until she rescues a strange, magical bird, who reveals a shocking secret: their forest kingdom is under attack by an ancient foe--the vile Frostfangs--and the birds need Eren's help to survive.

Seventh grade is hard enough without adding "bird champion" to her list of after-school activities. Lately, Eren's friends seem obsessed with their crushes and the upcoming dance, while Eren can't figure out what a crush should even feel like. Still, if she doesn't play along, they may leave her behind...or just leave her all together. Then the birds enlist one of Eren's classmates, forcing her separate lives to collide.

When her own mother starts behaving oddly, Eren realizes that the Frostfangs--with their insidious whispers--are now hunting outside the woods. In order to save her mom, defend an entire kingdom, and keep the friendships she holds dearest, Eren will need to do something utterly terrifying: be brave enough to embrace her innermost truths, no matter the cost.

Author: Jenn Reese
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Published: 05/10/2022
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.72lbs
Size: 8.53h x 5.76w x 0.92d
ISBN: 9781250783448
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 03/01/2022
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 04/11/2022
Booklist 05/15/2022 pg. 46