Good Intentions

Good Intentions

Regular price
$26.94
Sale price
$26.94
Regular price
$26.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Absorbing, compelling, and beautifully written. Its ending brought me close to tears. --Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of The Flatshare

For fans of The Big Sick and Nick Hornby
--a magnetic debut novel about a young man who has hidden a romance from his parents, unable to choose between familial obligation and the future he truly wants.

If love really is a choice, how do you decide where your loyalties lie?

It's the countdown to the New Year, and Nur is steeling himself to tell his parents that he's seeing someone. A young British Pakistani man, Nur has spent years omitting details about his personal life to maintain his image as the golden child. And it's come at a cost.

Once, Nur was a restless college student, struggling to fit in. At a party, he meets Yasmina, a beautiful and self-possessed aspiring journalist. They start a conversation--first awkward, then absorbing. And as their relationship develops, so too does Nur's self-destruction. He falls deeper into traps of his own making, attempting to please both Yasmina and his family until he must finally reveal the truth: Yasmina is Black, and he loves her.

Deftly transporting readers between that first night and the years beyond, Kasim Ali's Good Intentions exposes with unblinking authenticity the complexities of immigrant families and racial prejudice. It is a crackling, wryly clever depiction of standing on the precipice of adulthood, piecing together who it is you're meant to be.

Author: Kasim Ali
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Published: 03/08/2022
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.07lbs
Size: 9.56h x 6.53w x 1.15d
ISBN: 9781250809605

Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 10/01/2021 pg. 3
Publishers Weekly 01/10/2022
Kirkus Reviews 01/15/2022
Library Journal 02/01/2022 pg. 59
Booklist 02/15/2022 pg. 16

About the Author
Kasim Ali works at Penguin Random House, and has previously been shortlisted for Hachette's Mo Siewcherran Prize and longlisted for the 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize, and has contributed to The Good Journal. He comes from Birmingham and lives in London.