Skip to product information
1 of 1

World Noir

I Will Have Vengeance

I Will Have Vengeance

Regular price $15.29 USD
Regular price $16.99 USD Sale price $15.29 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Introducing Italy's Commissario Ricciardi. "De Giovanni's distinct brand of noir . . . will appeal to Agatha Christie and Manuel V zquez Montalb n fans" (Publishers Weekly).

Commissario Ricciardi has visions. He sees the final seconds in the lives of victims of violent deaths. It is both a gift and a curse. It has helped him become one of the most successful homicide detectives on the Naples police front. But the horror of his visions has hollowed him out emotionally. He drinks too much and sleeps too little. Other than his loyal partner, Brigadier Maione, he has no friends.
Naples, March 1931. A bitter wind stalks the city streets, and murder lies at its cold heart. When the world's greatest tenor, Maestro Arnaldo Vezzi, is found brutally murdered in his dressing room at Naples' San Carlo Theatre, the enigmatic and aloof Commissario Ricciardi is called in to investigate.
Arrogant and bad-tempered, Vezzi was adored by millions and hated by hundreds, but with the livelihoods of everyone at the San Carlo opera at stake, who there would have committed such an act? Ricciardi is determined to find out.
Fans of Donna Leon and Manuel V zquez Montalb n will thrill to this fresh voice in crime fiction. I Will Have Vengeance is the first book in a quartet of masterful crime novels set in fascist Italy.

"A welcome addition to the pantheon of Italian crime fiction . . . Ricciardi is a suitably principled, charismatic yet enigmatic detective."--Euro Crime

"The combination of an unusual detective, historical setting and Italian opera was impossible to resist."

Author: Maurizio de Giovanni
Publisher: World Noir
Published: 07/10/2018
Pages: 224
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.60lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.20w x 0.70d
ISBN: 9781609454395
Age Range: 18-UP

About the Author
Maurizio de Giovanni lives and works in Naples. His Commissario Ricciardi series, of which I Will Have Vengeance is the first, has quickly made him one of Italy's most popular and acclaimed crime authors. Europa Editions has published all eight books in the series--Everyone in Their Place, The Day of the Dead, I Will Have Vengeance, Blood Curse, By My Hand, Viper, At The Bottom of Your Heart, and Glass Souls--and the standalone Neapolitan thriller, The Crocodile.

View full details