Skip to product information
1 of 1

Greenwillow Books

Katzenjammer

Katzenjammer

Regular price $17.98 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $17.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

American Horror Story meets the dark comedy of Kafka's The Metamorphosis as Cat searches for a way to escape her high school. A tale of family, love, tragedy, and masks--the ones others make for us, and the ones we make for ourselves. Katzenjammer will haunt fans of Chelsea Pitcher's This Lie Will Kill You and E. Lockhart's We Were Liars.

Cat lives in her high school. She never leaves, and for a long time her school has provided her with everything she needs. But now things are changing. The hallways contract and expand along with the school's breathing, and the showers in the bathroom run a bloody red. Cat's best friend is slowly turning into cardboard, and instead of a face, Cat has a cat mask made of her own hardened flesh.

Cat doesn't remember why she is trapped in her school or why half of them--Cat included--are slowly transforming. Escaping has always been the one impossibility in her school's upside-down world. But to save herself from the eventual self-destruction all the students face, Cat must find the way out. And to do that, she'll have to remember what put her there in the first place.

Using chapters alternating between the past and the present, acclaimed author Francesca Zappia weaves a spine-tingling, suspenseful, and haunting story about tragedy and the power of memories. Fans of Marieke Nijkamp's This Is Where It Ends and Karen McManus's One of Us Is Lying will lose themselves in the pages of this novel--or maybe in the treacherous hallways of the school.

Includes interior illustrations from the author.



Author: Francesca Zappia
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published: 06/28/2022
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.50w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9780063161658
Age Range: 14-17

Review Citation(s):
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2022
Kirkus Reviews 04/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 05/16/2022
View full details