Skip to product information
1 of 1

Greenwillow Books

Keeping It Real

Keeping It Real

Regular price $16.13 USD
Regular price $16.98 USD Sale price $16.13 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock: 4 left

Marigold Johnson is looking forward to a future full of family, friends, and fashion--but what will she do when it all explodes in her face? When she discovers that her entire life is a lie?

Paula Chase, the author of So Done, Dough Boys, and Turning Point, explores betrayal, conformity, and forgiveness--and what it means to be family--in this stand-alone novel perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renée Watson.

Marigold Johnson can't wait to attend a special program at her family's business, Flexx Unlimited, for teens who love fashion. But Mari quickly realizes that she's out of place compared to the three other trainees--and one girl, Kara, seems to hate her on sight.

As tension builds and the stakes at the program get higher, Mari uncovers exactly why Kara's been so spiteful. She also discovers some hard truths about herself and her family.

Paula Chase explores complex themes centering on friendships, family, and what it means to conform to fit in. Keeping It Real is also a powerful exploration of what happens when parents pick and choose what they shield their children from. Timely and memorable, Paula Chase's character-driven story touches on creativity, art, fashion, and music. A great choice for the upper middle grade audience.



Author: Paula Chase
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published: 10/19/2021
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.55h x 5.81w x 1.25d
ISBN: 9780062965691
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.8
Point Value: 10
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 513077 / Keeping It Real


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 08/15/2021
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2021
Publishers Weekly 09/20/2021
Booklist 10/01/2021 pg. 68
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2021 pg. 98
School Library Journal 12/01/2021 pg. 86
View full details