Skip to product information
1 of 1

Poppy Books

Maybe We're Electric

Maybe We're Electric

Regular price $17.08 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $17.08 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Out of stock

From Val Emmich, the bestselling author of Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel, comes a deeply affecting story of two teens who find themselves thrown together overnight during a snowstorm and discover a surprising connection--perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, David Arnold, and Robin Benway.

Tegan Everly is quiet. Known around school simply as the girl with the hand, she's usually only her most outspoken self with her friend Neel, and right now they're not exactly talking. When Tegan is ambushed by her mom with a truth she can't face, she flees home in a snowstorm, finding refuge at a forgotten local attraction--the tiny Thomas Edison museum.

She's not alone for long. In walks Mac Durant. Striking, magnetic, a gifted athlete, Mac Durant is the classmate adored by all. Tegan can't stand him. Even his name sounds fake. Except the Mac Durant she thinks she knows isn't the one before her now--this Mac is rattled and asking her for help.

Over one unforgettable night spent consuming antique records and corner-shop provisions, Tegan and Mac cast aside their public personas and family pressures long enough to forge an unexpectedly charged bond and--in the very spot in New Jersey that inspired Edison's boldest creations--totally reinvent themselves. But could Tegan's most shameful secret destroy what they've built?

Emotionally vivid and endlessly charming, Maybe We're Electric is an artfully woven meditation on how pain can connect us--we can carry it alone in darkness or share the burden and watch the world light up again.

Author: Val Emmich
Publisher: Poppy Books
Published: 09/21/2021
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.60h x 5.77w x 1.07d
ISBN: 9780316535700
Age Range: 13-17

Review Citation(s):
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2021
Kirkus Reviews 08/01/2021
Publishers Weekly 08/02/2021
School Library Journal 08/01/2021 pg. 88
Booklist 08/01/2021 pg. 51

About the Author
Val Emmich is a New York Times bestselling author, singer-songwriter, and actor. His novels include The Reminders and Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel, the adaptation of the hit Broadway show.

View full details