Skip to product information
1 of 1

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Nobody's Looking at You: Essays

Nobody's Looking at You: Essays

Regular price $27.00 USD
Regular price $27.00 USD Sale price $27.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice. A 2019 NPR Staff Pick.

Malcolm is always worth reading; it can be instructive to see how much satisfying craft she brings to even the most trivial article. --Phillip Lopate, TLS

Janet Malcolm's previous collection, Forty-One False Starts: Essays on Artists and Writers, was "unmistakably the work of a master" (The New York Times Book Review). Like Forty-One False Starts, Nobody's Looking at You brings together previously uncompiled pieces, mainly from The New Yorker and The New York Review of Books.

The title piece of this wonderfully eclectic collection is a profile of the fashion designer Eileen Fisher, whose mother often said to her, "Nobody's looking at you." But in every piece in this volume, Malcolm looks closely and with impunity at a broad range of subjects, from Donald Trump's TV nemesis Rachel Maddow, to the stiletto-heel-wearing pianist Yuju Wang, to "the big-league game" of Supreme Court confirmation hearings. In an essay called "Socks," the Pevears are seen as the "sort of asteroid [that] has hit the safe world of Russian Literature in English translation," and in "Dreams and Anna Karenina," the focus is Tolstoy, "one of literature's greatest masters of manipulative techniques." Nobody's Looking at You concludes with "Pandora's Click," a brief, cautionary piece about e-mail etiquette that was written in the early two thousands, and that reverberates--albeit painfully--to this day.

Author: Janet Malcolm
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Published: 02/19/2019
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9780374279493

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 10/15/2018
Library Journal Prepub Alert 09/15/2018 pg. 38
Kirkus Reviews 11/01/2018
Library Journal 11/15/2018 pg. 80
Shelf Awareness 02/19/2019

About the Author
Janet Malcolm (1934- 2021) was the author of many books, including In the Freud Archives, The Journalist and the Murderer, Two Lives: Alice and Gertrude, which won the 2008 PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography, and Forty-One False Starts, which was a New York Times Book Review Notable Book and a finalist for the 2013 National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism. She was a longtime staff writer for The New Yorker and a frequent contributor to The New York Review of Books

View full details