Not a Box

Not a Box

Regular price
$15.94
Sale price
$15.94
Regular price
$15.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Don't miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. This picture book with its visual humor and simple dialogue is great for fans of Mo Willems and Crockett Johnson--and it's a thoughtful graduation gift for creative people of all ages.

A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows.

Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real--when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible.

After reading this book aloud, continue the fun by drawing shapes like a triangle or circle, and asking your child what the triangle is NOT



Author: Antoinette Portis
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 12/12/2006
Pages: 32
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.68lbs
Size: 9.43h x 9.09w x 0.36d
ISBN: 9780061123221
Audience: Baby-Preschool
Award: Georgia Children's Book Award - Nominee
Award: Nevada Young Readers' Award - Nominee
Award: Geisel Medal (Dr. Seuss) - Honor Book
Award: Missouri Building Block Picture Book Award - Nominee

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 11/27/2006 pg. 49
New Yorker (The) 12/04/2006 pg. 93
Kirkus Review - Children 12/01/2006 pg. 1225
Booklist 12/01/2006 pg. 53
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2007 pg. 60
School Library Journal 01/01/2007 pg. 100
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2007 pg. 12 - Superior,Well Above Average
New York Times 04/15/2007 pg. 18