One-Shot Harry

One-Shot Harry

Regular price
$24.95
Sale price
$24.95
Regular price
$24.94
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Race and civil rights in 1963 Los Angeles provide a powerful backdrop in Gary Phillips's riveting historical crime novel about an African American forensic photographer seeking justice for a friend--perfect for fans of Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, and George Pelecanos.

LOS ANGELES, 1963: African American Korean War veteran Harry Ingram earns a living as a news photographer and occasional process server: chasing police radio calls and dodging baseball bats. With racial tensions running high on the eve of Martin Luther King's Freedom Rally, Ingram risks becoming a victim at every crime scene he photographs.

When Ingram hears about a deadly automobile accident on his police scanner, he recognizes the vehicle described as belonging to his good friend and old army buddy, a white jazz trumpeter. The LAPD declares the car crash an accident, but when Ingram develops his photos, he sees signs of foul play. Ingram feels compelled to play detective, even if it means putting his own life on the line. Armed with his wits, his camera, and occasionally his Colt .45, "One-Shot" Harry plunges headfirst into the seamy underbelly of LA society, tangling with racists, leftists, gangsters, zealots, and lovers, all in the hope of finding something resembling justice for a friend.

Master storyteller and crime fiction legend Gary Phillips has filled the pages of One-Shot Harry with fascinating historical cameos, wise-cracks, tenderness, and an edge-of-your-seat thrill ride of a plot with consequences far beyond one dead body.

Author: Gary Phillips
Publisher: Soho Crime
Published: 04/12/2022
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.60w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9781641292917

Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 11/01/2021 pg. 2
Booklist 11/01/2021 pg. 27
Kirkus Reviews 01/15/2022
Publishers Weekly 03/07/2022
Library Journal 04/02/2022 pg. 1

About the Author
Gary Phillips has published novels, comics, novellas, short stories and edited or co-edited several anthologies, including the Anthony-winning The Obama Inheritance: Fifteen Stories of Conspiracy Noir. Violent Spring, his debut effort more than a quarter century ago, was named in 2020 one of the essential crime novels of Los Angeles. He was also a story editor on Snowfall, an FX show about crack and the CIA in 1980s South Central, where he grew up.