Skip to product information
1 of 1

Clarion Books

Rainbow in the Dark

Rainbow in the Dark

Regular price $17.08 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $17.08 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Out of stock

The Wizard of Oz meets Ready Player One in this darkly comic YA novel about identity, depression, giving up, and finding your way home.

High school senior Rainbow is trapped with three other teens in a game-like world that may or may not be real. Together, they must complete quests and gain experience in order to access their own forgotten memories, decode what has happened to them, and find a portal home.

As Rainbow's memories slowly return, the story of a lonely teen facing senior year as the new kid in a small town emerges. Surreal, absurdist humor balances sensitively handled themes of suicide, depression, and the search for identity in an unpredictable and ultimately hopeful page-turner that's perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson, Adam Silvera, and Libba Bray's Going Bovine.


Author: Sean McGinty
Publisher: Clarion Books
Published: 08/10/2021
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.97lbs
Size: 8.58h x 5.78w x 1.18d
ISBN: 9780358380375
Age Range: 12-17

Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 06/01/2021 pg. 69
Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2021
Publishers Weekly 08/02/2021
Booklist 08/01/2021 pg. 68
Shelf Awareness 08/20/2021
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2021

About the Author
Sean McGinty teaches writing at Mount Hood Community College. His debut novel, The End of Fun, was an Indies Introduce selection. He lives in Oregon with his family and his dogs. Twitter: @mcgintyface, Instagram: @mcgintyface.

View full details