Skip to product information
1 of 1

Square Fish

The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One

The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One

Regular price $11.59 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $11.59 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

65 in stock

The first book of the New York Times bestselling Remnant Chronicles.

"Fantastical." --USA Today

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor's secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can't abide. Like having to marry someone she's never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia escapes to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive--and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets--secrets that may unravel her world--even as she feels herself falling in love.

The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson's New York Times bestselling young adult fantasy series Remnant Chronicles. The adventure continues in the New York Times bestseller, The Heart of Betrayal, and comes to an epic conclusion in The Beauty of Darkness.

Praise for The Kiss of Deception:

"A deeply satisfying, intricately plotted fantasy where no one--no one--is quite what they seem. . . . A thoroughly engrossing read--I couldn't put it down " --Robin LaFevers, New York Times-bestselling author of Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph

"A sumptuous fantasy." --Chicago Tribune

"This is the kind of story I love--a heart-pounding tale of magic and murder, betrayal and romance set in a richly imagined fantasy landscape." --Cindy Williams Chima, New York Times-bestselling author of the Seven Realms and the Heir Chronicles

"Extraordinary . . . masterfully crafted." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The Kiss of Deception has it all--beautiful writing, heart-pounding suspense, a fiery princess, and an epic romance that'll make you swoon. This is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year " --Alyson No l, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Immortals

"In The Kiss of Deception, a new realm is masterfully created, featuring court intrigue, feuding nations, breathtaking landscapes, and the gift of sight. Fans of the Game of Thrones series will enjoy the magic and fantasy in this timeless dystopian world." --VOYA

Gripping, urgent, and highly appealing. --School Library Journal

Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, the Remnant Chronicles, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner. --Publishers Weekly

Pearson offers readers a wonderfully full-bodied story: harrowing, romantic, and full of myth and memory, fate and hope. . . . This has the sweep of an epic tale, told with some twists. --Booklist, starred review

A marvelous new fantasy series that is sure to find an audience with devotees of Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games and John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice books (Philomel). Romance, adventure, mysticism--this book has it all and it just may be the next YA blockbuster. --School Library Journal, starred review

Author: Mary E. Pearson
Publisher: Square Fish
Published: 06/02/2015
Pages: 512
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.80lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 0.80d
ISBN: 9781250063151
Age Range: 14-18

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.5
Point Value: 17
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 167708 / Kiss of Deception

About the Author
Mary E. Pearson is the author of bestselling, award-winning novels for teens. The Miles Between was named a Kirkus Best Book of the Year, and The Adoration of Jenna Fox was listed as a Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year, an IRA Young Adult Choice, NYPL Stuff for the Teen Age, and a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. In addition to her Jenna Fox series and the New York Times-bestselling Remnant Chronicles, Pearson is also the author of A Room on Lorelei Street, David v. God, and Scribbler of Dreams. Pearson studied art at Long Beach State University, and worked as an artist before earning her teaching credential at San Diego State University. She writes full-time from her home in Carlsbad, California, where she lives with her husband and two dogs.

View full details