The Leopard Behind the Moon

The Leopard Behind the Moon

Regular price
$16.94
Sale price
$16.94
Regular price
$16.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

No one knows what lies beyond the magical village door, but Ezomo is determined to find out. Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev's debut is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, family, and long-standing traditions. The power of storytelling comes to life in this novel perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly, Tracey Baptiste, and Tae Keller.

There are three important laws in Ezomo's village: Do not go to The Valley, do not go out at night, and never, ever, ever open the magical door that protects them all. But when Ezomo encounters the leopard believed to have killed his father, he and his two best friends embark on a journey that leads them past the boundaries set by their elders.

With his friends by his side, Ezomo chases after the leopard, certain that it has the power to cure all. But in the process, he discovers the truth about his village. And that cautionary tales exist for a reason.

Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev's debut novel balances a gripping adventure with themes of friendship, community, identity, grief, and resilience. Poignant and memorable, Ezomo's story will appeal to fantasy lovers and readers of Grace Lin and Kelly Barnhill.



Author: Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published: 09/21/2021
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.89lbs
Size: 8.10h x 6.33w x 1.02d
ISBN: 9780062993618
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 08/01/2021
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2022 pg. 118