The Monsters of Rookhaven

The Monsters of Rookhaven

Regular price
$16.94
Sale price
$16.94
Regular price
$16.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"A stunning book...a brand new take on the monster story." --Eoin Colfer, international bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl series

From award-winning author P draig Kenny comes an action-packed middle grade fantasy about a family of monsters, perfect for fans of Jonathan Auxier and Victoria Schwab.

Mirabelle is part of a very unusual family. Between Uncle Bertram transforming into a ferocious grizzly bear and Aunt Eliza's body being made entirely of spiders, it's safe to say they are an extraordinary lot.

To the human residents of Rookhaven Village, the family is a threat. So long ago, a treaty was reached between them--in return for sundries and supplies, the monsters won't eat the townspeople--and an invisible glamour was set around the perimeter of the Manor to keep strangers out.

But the glamour serves a second purpose: to keep Mirabelle and her family hidden from those who would do them harm. When two orphans--siblings Jem and Tom--stumble upon a tear in the magical field and open a door that was meant to stay locked, Mirabelle and her family are put in grave danger. A very real monster has locked onto their scent, and he has a hunger for their kind.

At turns chilling and thought-provoking, and stunningly illustrated by Edward Bettison, P draig Kenny's The Monsters of Rookhaven explores difference and empathy through the eyes of characters you won't soon forget.

Author: Pádraig Kenny
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Published: 09/21/2021
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781250623942
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2021
Publishers Weekly 07/19/2021
Kirkus Reviews 08/15/2021
Booklist 09/01/2021 pg. 76

About the Author
Pádraig Kenny is an Irish writer who hails from County Kildare. Previously an arts journalist, a teacher and a librarian's assistant, he now writes full-time. His debut novel, Tin, was a Waterstones Children's Book of the Month and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal. His second novel, Pog, was an Independent Bookseller's Book of the Month. He lives with his wife and four children in Limerick, Ireland.