The Ones We're Meant to Find

The Ones We're Meant to Find

Regular price
$18.94
Sale price
$18.94
Regular price
$18.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller

Perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay, and it's up to Cee to cross the ocean and find her.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara lives in an eco-city built for people who protected the planet?and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn't mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it's been three months since Celia's disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But nevertheless, she decides to retrace Celia's last steps. Where they'll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.

Author: Joan He
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Published: 05/04/2021
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.50w x 1.40d
ISBN: 9781250258564
Age Range: 12-17

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2021
Publishers Weekly 03/15/2021
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 04/01/2021
Booklist 05/01/2021 pg. 53
School Library Journal 05/01/2021 pg. 84

About the Author
Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city waterfront. She is the author of Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.