The Poison Thread

The Poison Thread

Regular price
$15.95
Sale price
$15.95
Regular price
$15.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

An] uncanny Gothic mystery... Satisfying.--New York Times Book Review

A romping read with a deliciously dark conceit at its center... Reminded me of Alias Grace.--Kiran Millwood Hargrave

From the author of The Silent Companions, a thrilling Victorian gothic horror story about a young seamstress who claims her needle and thread have the power to kill

Dorothea Truelove is young, wealthy, and beautiful. Ruth Butterham is young, poor, and awaiting trial for murder.

When Dorothea's charitable work brings her to Oakgate Prison, she is delighted by the chance to explore her fascination with phrenology and test her hypothesis that the shape of a person's skull can cast a light on their darkest crimes. But when she meets one of the prisoners, the teenaged seamstress Ruth, she is faced with another strange idea: that it is possible to kill with a needle and thread--because Ruth attributes her crimes to a supernatural power inherent in her stitches.

The story Ruth has to tell of her deadly creations--of bitterness and betrayal, of death and dresses--will shake Dorothea's belief in rationality, and the power of redemption. Can Ruth be trusted? Is she mad, or a murderer? For fans of Shirley Jackson, The Poison Thread is a spine-tingling, sinister read about the evil that lurks behind the facade of innocence.

Author: Laura Purcell
Publisher: Penguin Books
Published: 06/18/2019
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.20w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780143134053

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 04/15/2019
Publishers Weekly 05/06/2019

About the Author
Laura Purcell is the author of The Silent Companions. She worked in local government, the financial industry and a bookshop before becoming a full-time writer. She lives in Colchester, the oldest recorded town in England, with her husband and pet guinea pigs. Fascinated by the darker side of royal history, Laura has also written two historical fiction novels about the Hanoverian dynasty.