Skip to product information
1 of 1

Feiwel & Friends

The Red Palace

The Red Palace

Regular price $17.89 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $17.89 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

145 in stock

June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace--a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood...

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father's approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon's closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher's innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.

Praise for The Red Palace:

An ABA Indie Bestseller
A Junior Library Guild Selection
Forbes Most Anticipated Book of 2022 Selection

A tense political thriller, a beautiful romance, and a coming of age all in one unique package. --School Library Journal, starred review

This atmospheric historical mystery will transport and captivate readers ... A beautifully written story full of historical and cultural details that will leave readers aching for a follow-up. --Booklist, starred review

An expertly choreographed mystery with a touch of romance and an emotionally satisfying conclusion ... The perfect book to curl up with for a cozy winter afternoon of murder and intrigue. --NPR

Author: June Hur
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Published: 01/25/2022
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.20w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9781250800558
Age Range: 13-18

Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 12/01/2021 pg. 95
Publishers Weekly 12/06/2021
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2022 pg. 112
Booklist 01/01/2022 pg. 72
Shelf Awareness 02/04/2022

About the Author
June Hur was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. She began writing her debut novel after obsessing over books about Joseon Korea. When she's not writing, she can be found wandering through nature or journaling at a coffee shop. She is the author of The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, and The Red Palace, and currently lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter

View full details