The Samosa Rebellion

The Samosa Rebellion

Regular price
$16.94
Sale price
$16.94
Regular price
$16.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Critically acclaimed author Shanthi Sekaran makes her middle grade debut with this timely and stunning novel in which a young boy and his friends must rescue his grandmother from a relocation camp after their country's descent into xenophobia. Perfect for fans of The Night Diary and Front Desk.

Before his grandmother moved from India to the island of Mariposa, Muki Krishnan's life was good. But now? He has to share his bedroom with Paati, his grandmother, who snores like a bulldozer and wakes him up at dawn to do yoga.

Paati's arrival coincides with even bigger changes in Mariposa. The president divides citizens into Butterflies--families who have lived in Mariposa for three generations--and Moths, who, like Muki's family, are more recent immigrants. The changes are small at first. But then Muki and his friends find a camp being built to imprison Moths before sending them away. Soon after, his Paati is captured and taken there.

While devising Paati's escape, Muki discovers that a secret rebellion is underway, and as he digs deeper, he realizes that rescuing Paati will be the fight of his life.

* Banks Street Best Children's Books of the Year *



Author: Shanthi Sekaran
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Published: 09/21/2021
Pages: 352
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.10h x 5.80w x 1.40d
ISBN: 9780063051539
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 3.7
Point Value: 10
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 514307 / Samosa Rebellion


Review Citation(s):
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2021
Kirkus Reviews 08/15/2021
Publishers Weekly 09/13/2021
Booklist 10/01/2021 pg. 70
Shelf Awareness 10/01/2021
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2021 pg. 116