Skip to product information
1 of 1

Spiderline

The Substitute

The Substitute

Regular price $14.35 USD
Regular price $15.94 USD Sale price $14.35 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, The Substitute is a deliciously creepy psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Warren Botts is a disillusioned Ph.D. taking a break from his lab to teach middle-school science. Gentle, soft-spoken, and introverted, Warren befriends thirteen-year-old Amanda, a lonely student looking for guidance.

One morning, Warren returns from a jog to find Amanda dead, hanging from a tree in his backyard. A police investigation follows, but Warren is unable -- or unwilling -- to answer the questions that swirl around him. Suspicions mount, and Warren's peaceful neighbours quickly become hostile.

Meanwhile, an anonymous narrator who possesses a dangerous combination of extreme intelligence and emotional detachment offers insight into events past and present. As the tension builds, we gain an intimate understanding of the power of memories, secrets, and lies.



Author: Nicole Lundrigan
Publisher: Spiderline
Published: 06/13/2017
Pages: 286
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.20w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9781487002350

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 05/15/2017
Booklist 06/01/2017 pg. 62
Publishers Weekly 06/26/2017

About the Author
Nicole Lundrigan is the author of five critically acclaimed novels, including Glass Boys and The Widow Tree. Her work has appeared on best of the year selections of the Globe and Mail and NOW Magazine and she has been longlisted for the ReLit Award. Born and raised in Newfoundland, she now lives in Toronto.

View full details