Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tordotcom

Goliath

Goliath

Regular price $24.18 USD
Regular price $26.98 USD Sale price $24.18 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock: 4 left

A New York Times Editors' Choice Pick!

A Most Anticipated Pick for USA Today Bustle Buzzfeed Goodreads Nerdist io9 WBUR Polygon The New Scientist

In this ambitious novel, dense with perspectives and social commentary, Onyebuchi dreams up disparate lives in a crumbling future America--with gentrifiers returning to Earth from space colonies and laborers trying to make a precarious living--while leaving room for moments of beauty and humor.--The New York Times, Editors' Choice

In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven.

In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked.

A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives--a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth's crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping--into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history.

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi
Publisher: Tordotcom
Published: 01/25/2022
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.87lbs
Size: 8.71h x 5.67w x 1.22d
ISBN: 9781250782953

Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 10/01/2021 pg. 11
Publishers Weekly 11/08/2021
Booklist 12/15/2021 pg. 89
Library Journal 01/14/2022 pg. 1

About the Author
Tochi Onyebuchi is the author of the young adult novel Beasts Made of Night, which won the Ilube Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel by an African, its sequel, Crown of Thunder, and War Girls. His novella Riot Baby, a finalist for the Hugo, the Nebula, the Locus, the Ignyte, and the NAACP Image Awards, won the New England Book Award for Fiction and an ALA Alex Award. He holds a B.A. from Yale, a M.F.A. in screenwriting from the Tisch School for the Arts, a Master's degree in droit économique from Sciences Po, and a J.D. from Columbia Law School. His fiction has appeared in Panverse Three, Asimov's Science Fiction, Obsidian, Omenana Magazine, Uncanny, and Lightspeed. His non-fiction has appeared in Tor.com, Nowhere Magazine, the Oxford University Press blog, and the Harvard Journal of African American Public Policy, among other places.

View full details