Skip to product information
1 of 1

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble

Regular price $17.89 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $17.89 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

From debut author Lisa Moore Ram e comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Ren e Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

Tensions are high over the trial of a police officer who shot an unarmed Black man. When the officer is set free, and Shay goes with her family to a silent protest, she starts to see that some trouble is worth making. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)



Author: Lisa Moore Ramée
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Published: 03/12/2019
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.80w x 1.40d
ISBN: 9780062836687
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.5
Point Value: 9
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 501309 / Good Kind of Trouble


Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 02/01/2019 pg. 60
Booklist 12/15/2018 pg. 97
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2018 pg. 147
Publishers Weekly 12/24/2018
Horn Book Magazine 03/01/2019 pg. 88
Shelf Awareness 03/15/2019
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 04/01/2019
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above Average
View full details