Skip to product information
1 of 1

Holt McDougal

A Night to Remember: The Classic Account of the Final Hours of the Titanic

A Night to Remember: The Classic Account of the Final Hours of the Titanic

Regular price $15.98 USD
Regular price $15.98 USD Sale price $15.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The classic minute-by-minute account of the sinking of the Titanic, in a 50th anniversary edition with a new introduction by Nathaniel Philbrick

First published in 1955, A Night to Remember remains a completely riveting account of the Titanic's fatal collision and the behavior of the passengers and crew, both noble and ignominious. Some sacrificed their lives, while others fought like animals for their own survival. Wives beseeched husbands to join them in lifeboats; gentlemen went taut-lipped to their deaths in full evening dress; and hundreds of steerage passengers, trapped below decks, sought help in vain.

Available for the first time in trade paperback and with a new introduction for the 50th anniversary edition by Nathaniel Phil-brick, author of In the Heart of the Sea and Sea of Glory, Walter Lord's classic minute-by-minute re-creation is as vivid now as it was upon first publication fifty years ago. From the initial distress flares to the struggles of those left adrift for hours in freezing waters, this semicentennial edition brings that moonlit night in 1912 to life for a new generation of readers.

Author: Walter Lord
Publisher: Holt McDougal
Published: 01/07/2005
Pages: 208
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.42lbs
Size: 8.26h x 5.56w x 0.56d
ISBN: 9780805077643

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 7
Point Value: 8
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 541 / Night to Remember

Review Citation(s):
Ingram Advance 03/01/2005 pg. 70

About the Author

Walter Lord was the author of several bestselling works of history, including Day of Infamy, a re-creation of the day of the attack on Pearl Harbor. He died in 2002. Nathaniel Philbrick is the New York Times bestselling author of Sea of Glory and In the Heart of the Sea, for which he won the National Book Award.

View full details