Skip to product information
1 of 1

Peachtree Teen

A Warning about Swans

A Warning about Swans

Regular price $18.04 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.04 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Swan Lake meets The Last Unicorn by way of the Brothers Grimm in a dreamy, original fairytale.

Acclaimed author R.M. Romero spins an enchanting tale in elegant verse about the search for belonging, and ultimately, empowerment. Perfect for fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale.

"Dreamy, melancholy, and pensive. . . ."--NPR

Bavaria. 1880. Hilde was dreamed into existence by the god Odin and, along with her five sisters, granted cloaks that transform them into swans. Each sister's cloak is imbued with a unique gift, but Hilde rejects her gift which allows her to lead the souls of dying creatures to the afterlife.

While guiding the soul of a hawk, Hilde meets the handsome Baron Maximilian von Richter, whose father left him no inheritance. Hilde is intrigued by Richter's longing for a greater life and strikes a deal with him: She will manifest his dreams of riches, and in return, he will take her to the human world, where the song of souls can't reach her.

But at the court of King Ludwig II in Munich, Hilde struggles to fit in. After learning that fashionable ladies are sitting for portraits, she hires non-binary Jewish artist Franz Mendelson, and is stunned when Franz renders her with swan wings. The more time she spends with Franz, the more she feels drawn to the artist's warm, understanding nature, and the more controlling Richter becomes. When Hilde's swan cloak suddenly goes missing, only Franz's ability to paint the true nature of souls can help Hilde escape her newfound prison.

A Warning About Swans weaves poetry into myth with spellbinding verse. Familiar as a Grimm tale and beautiful as a fairytale, but darker and more lyrical. The perfect fantasy to cozy up with and be whisked away to real-world enchanted castles.

Author: R. M. Romero
Publisher: Peachtree Teen
Published: 07/11/2023
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.95lbs
Size: 8.10h x 5.50w x 1.40d
ISBN: 9781682634837
Age Range: 14-UP

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 05/01/2023
Publishers Weekly 05/15/2023
Booklist 06/01/2023 pg. 79
Foreword 06/27/2023
Shelf Awareness 08/04/2023
BookPage 07/01/2023
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2023

About the Author
R.M. Romero is a Jewish Latina and author of fairy tales for children and adults. She lives in Miami Beach with her cat, Henry VIII, and spends her summers helping to maintain Jewish cemeteries in Poland. You can visit her online at rrmromero.com or on Instagram @rmromeroauthor.

View full details