Skip to product information
1 of 1


All the Pretty Horses: Border Trilogy (1)

All the Pretty Horses: Border Trilogy (1)

Regular price $16.94 USD
Regular price $16.94 USD Sale price $16.94 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER - NATIONAL BESTSELLER - The first volume in the Border Trilogy, from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Road

All the Pretty Horses is the tale of John Grady Cole, who at sixteen finds himself at the end of a long line of Texas ranchers, cut off from the only life he has ever imagined for himself. With two companions, he sets off for Mexico on a sometimes idyllic, sometimes comic journey to a place where dreams are paid for in blood.

Author: Cormac McCarthy
Publisher: Vintage
Published: 06/29/1993
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.52lbs
Size: 7.95h x 5.15w x 0.70d
ISBN: 9780679744399

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.9
Point Value: 15
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 68567 / All the Pretty Horses

Award: National Book Awards - Winner
Award: National Book Critics Circle Award - Winner

About the Author
Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in 1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today. McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968), Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), and All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992.

View full details