Skip to product information
1 of 1

Europa Compass

An Atlas of Extinct Countries

An Atlas of Extinct Countries

Regular price $16.05 USD
Regular price $17.94 USD Sale price $16.05 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock: 10 left

The remarkable (and occasionally ridiculous) stories of 48 nations that fell off the map.

"Countries are just daft stories we tell each other. They're all equally implausible once you get up close."

Countries die. Sometimes it's murder, sometimes it's by accident, and sometimes it's because they were so ludicrous they didn't deserve to exist in the first place. This is an atlas of 48 nations that fell off the map. Their causes of death range from the implausible (jerky prices) to the unfortunate (too evil) to the downright bizarre (the flip of a coin). The polite way of writing an obituary is: dwell on the good bits, gloss over the embarrassing stuff. This book refuses to do so, because these dead nations are so ridiculous that it's impossible to skip the embarrassing stuff.

★ "This book is a sparkling gem."--Booklist (Starred Review)

"Perfect for fans of Atlas Obscura."--Publishers Weekly



Author: Gideon Defoe
Publisher: Europa Compass
Published: 03/15/2022
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.20w x 0.80d
ISBN: 9781609457662
View full details