Gabe in the After

Gabe in the After

Regular price
$17.99
Sale price
$17.99
Regular price
$17.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A post-apocalyptic upper middle-grade adventure with a first-crush romance, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Shannon Hale

It's fourteen-year-old Gabe Sweeney's day to check for survivors . . .

Two years after a global pandemic, twenty survivors (most of them children) have relocated from their coastal Maine island full of sad memories to a mansion on a small, neighboring island where they have school and farm chores. When Gabe and his dog, Mud, find Relle Douglas alone in the woods on the mainland, they take the strange new girl across the channel to live with them.
Relle changes the island with her hopeful attitude. She tells big stories and makes plans for activities like talent shows. Despite a growing crush, Gabe doesn't quite understand the point of it all; why have a talent show at the end of the world? But when tragedy strikes, Gabe sets out on a dangerous journey to try and find other survivors where the world might be normal. Like Before.

Lightly inspired by Anne of Green Gables, Gabe in the After is a moving and heartfelt story about the end of the world--and what perseveres through it.

Author: Shannon Doleski
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Published: 06/28/2022
Pages: 240
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.80lbs
Size: 8.10h x 5.50w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9781419754388
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2022 - Book Of Special Distinction
Kirkus Reviews 05/01/2022
Publishers Weekly 05/16/2022
School Library Journal 07/01/2022 pg. 57