Skip to product information
1 of 1

Square Fish

Girl Giant and the Monkey King

Girl Giant and the Monkey King

Regular price $8.88 USD
Regular price $8.98 USD Sale price $8.88 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

73 in stock

From debut author Van Hoang comes Girl Giant and the Monkey King, a tale packed with magic, adventure, and middle-school woes--perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Roshani Chokshi.

Eleven-year-old Thom Ngho is keeping a secret: she's strong. Like suuuuper strong. Freakishly strong. And it's making it impossible for her to fit in at her new middle school.

In a desperate bid to get rid of her super strength, Thom makes a deal with the Monkey King, a powerful deity and legendary trickster she accidentally released from his 500-year prison sentence. Thom agrees to help the Monkey King get back his magical staff if he'll take away her strength.

Soon Thom is swept up in an ancient and fantastical world in where demons, dragons, and Jade princesses actually exist. But she quickly discovers that magic can't cure everything, and dealing with the trickster god might be more trouble than it's worth.

Author: Van Hoang
Publisher: Square Fish
Published: 12/07/2021
Pages: 384
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 7.50h x 5.10w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9781250802798
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.7
Point Value: 11
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 512085 / Girl Giant and the Monkey King

About the Author
Van Hoang earned her bachelor's degree in English at the University of New Mexico and her master's in Library Information Science at San Jose State University. Girl Giant and the Monkey King was her debut novel. She was born in Vietnam, grew in up Orange County, California, and now resides in Los Angeles with her husband and two dogs.

View full details