Girl in the Blue Coat

Girl in the Blue Coat

Regular price
$9.94
Sale price
$9.94
Regular price
$9.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

Don't miss The War Outside and They Went Left, two more gripping historical novels by Monica Hesse

Author: Monica Hesse
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 04/04/2017
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.66lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780316260633
Age Range: 13-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.9
Point Value: 11
Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus
Quiz #/Name: 180669 / Girl in the Blue Coat

About the Author
Monica Hesse is the bestselling author of Girl in the Blue Coat and American Fire, as well as a journalist with The Washington Post. She lives outside Washington, D.C. with her husband and their dog.