Skip to product information
1 of 1

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hollow Fires

Hollow Fires

Regular price $16.98 USD
Regular price $18.98 USD Sale price $16.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

38 in stock

A powerful, gripping YA novel about the insidious nature of racism, the terrible costs of unearthing hidden truths, and the undeniable power of hope, by New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed. Perfect for fans of Sadie and Dear Martin.

Safiya Mirza dreams of becoming a journalist. And one thing she's learned as editor of her school newspaper is that a journalist's job is to find the facts and not let personal biases affect the story. But all that changes the day she finds the body of a murdered boy.

Jawad Ali was fourteen years old when he built a cosplay jetpack that a teacher mistook for a bomb. A jetpack that got him arrested, labeled a terrorist--and eventually killed. But he's more than a dead body, and more than "Bomb Boy." He was a person with a life worth remembering.

Driven by Jawad's haunting voice guiding her throughout her investigation, Safiya seeks to tell the whole truth about the murdered boy and those who killed him because of their hate-based beliefs.

This gripping and powerful book uses an innovative format and lyrical prose to expose the evil that exists in front of us, and the silent complicity of the privileged who create alternative facts to bend the truth to their liking.



Author: Samira Ahmed
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 05/10/2022
Pages: 416
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.10lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.70w x 1.50d
ISBN: 9780316282642
Age Range: 14-17

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/01/2022
Booklist 03/15/2022 pg. 65
Publishers Weekly 03/28/2022
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2022
View full details