How Lucky

How Lucky

Regular price
$25.94
Sale price
$25.94
Regular price
$25.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"A fantastic novel. . . . You are going to like this a lot."--Stephen King

"What's more thrilling than a fictional character speaking to us in a voice we haven't heard before, a voice so authentic and immediate--think Huck Finn, Holden Caulfield, Mattie Ross--that we suspect it must've been there all along, that we somehow managed to miss it? Daniel, the protagonist of Will Leitch's smart, funny, heartbreaking new novel How Lucky, is just such a voice, and I'm not sure it will ever completely leave my head, or that I want it to."--Richard Russo

For readers of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Nothing to See Here, a first novel as suspenseful and funny as it is moving, the unforgettable story of a fiercely resilient young man living with a physical disability, and his efforts to solve a mystery unfolding right outside his door.

Daniel leads a rich life in the university town of Athens, Georgia. He's got a couple close friends, a steady paycheck working for a regional airline, and of course, for a few glorious days each Fall, college football tailgates. He considers himself to be a mostly lucky guy--despite the fact that he's suffered from a debilitating disease since he was a small child, one that has left him unable to speak or to move without a wheelchair.

Largely confined to his home, Daniel spends the hours he's not online communicating with irate air travelers observing his neighborhood from his front porch. One young woman passes by so frequently that spotting her out the window has almost become part of his daily routine. Until the day he's almost sure he sees her being kidnapped...



Author: Will Leitch
Publisher: Harper
Published: 05/11/2021
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.60w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9780063073098

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2021
Publishers Weekly 03/22/2021
Booklist 04/01/2021 pg. 29
Shelf Awareness 05/14/2021