Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

Regular price
$27.95
Sale price
$27.95
Regular price
$27.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

*A New York Times Editor's Choice pick
*Shortlisted for the 2022 Pacific
Northwest Book Awards

A beloved natural historian explores how climate change is driving evolution

In Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists.

A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

Author: Thor Hanson
Publisher: Basic Books
Published: 09/28/2021
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.97lbs
Size: 8.43h x 5.75w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9781541672420

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 06/28/2021
Library Journal 09/01/2021 pg. 88
Shelf Awareness 09/28/2021

About the Author
Thor Hanson is a conservation biologist, Guggenheim Fellow, and author of award winning books including Buzz, Feathers, The Impenetrable Forest, and The Triumph of Seeds. He lives with his wife and son on an island in Washington State.
www.thorhanson.net