Skip to product information
1 of 1

Katherine Tegen Books

I'll Be the One

I'll Be the One

Regular price $16.18 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $16.18 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Diverse book recommended by The Today Show * A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2020

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity--perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn't dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn't call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she's about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her.

She'll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she'll do it better than anyone else.

When Skye nails her audition, she's immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn't count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho.

But Skye has her sights on becoming the world's first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition--without losing herself.



Author: Lyla Lee
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Published: 06/16/2020
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.70w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9780062936929
Age Range: 12-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.4
Point Value: 12
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 512251 / I'll Be the One


Review Citation(s):
Booklist 04/15/2020 pg. 50
School Library Journal 05/01/2020 pg. 64
Kirkus Reviews 05/01/2020
Shelf Awareness 06/23/2020
Publishers Weekly 07/13/2020
View full details