Skip to product information
1 of 1

Flame Tree Press

Music of the Night: From the Crime Writers' Association

Music of the Night: From the Crime Writers' Association

Regular price $25.59 USD
Regular price $26.94 USD Sale price $25.59 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Out of stock

The Annual Crime Writers' Association anthology is always a thrilling read, and eagerly anticipated by readers and authors of crime and mystery fiction worldwide.

Music of the Night is a new anthology of original short stories contributed by Crime Writers' Association (CWA) members and edited by Martin Edwards, with music as the connecting theme. The aim, as always, is to produce a book which is representative both of the genre and the membership of the world's premier crime writing association.

The CWA has published anthologies of members' stories in most years since 1956, with Martin Edwards as editor for over 25 years, during which time the anthologies have yielded many award-winning and nominated stories by writers such as Ian Rankin, Reginald Hill, Lawrence Block, and Edward D. Hoch. Stories by long-standing authors and stellar names sit alongside contributions from relative newcomers, authors from overseas, and members whose work haven't appeared in a CWA anthology before.

Contents List:

Abi Silver - Be Prepared

Alison Joseph - A Sharp Thorn

Andrew Taylor - Wrong Notes

Antony M. Brown - The Melody of Murder

Art Taylor - Love Me or Leave Me

Brian Price - The Scent of an Ending

Cath Staincliffe - Mix Tape

C. Aird - The Last Green Bottle

Chris Simms - Taxi

Christine Poulson - Some Other Dracula

David Stuart Davies - Violin - CE

Dea Parkin - The Sound and the Fury

Jason Monaghan - A Vulture Sang in Berkeley Square

Kate Ellis - Not a Note

L.C. Tyler - His Greatest Hit

Leo McNeir - Requiem

Martin Edwards - The Crazy Cries of Love

Maxim Jakubowski - Waiting for Cornelia

Neil Daws - The Watch Room

Paul Charles - The Ghosts of Peace

Paul Gitsham - No More 'I Love You's'

Peter Lovesey - And the Band Played On

Ragnar Jónasson - 4x3

Shawn Reilly Simmons - A Death in Four Parts

Vaseem Khan - Bombay Blues

FLAME TREE PRESS is the imprint of long-standing independent Flame Tree Publishing, dedicated to full-length original fiction in the horror and

suspense, science fiction & fantasy, and crime / mystery / thriller categories. The list brings together fantastic new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices. Learn more about Flame Tree Press at and connect on social media @FlameTreePress

Author: Martin Edwards
Publisher: Flame Tree Press
Published: 02/22/2022
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 8.58h x 5.43w x 1.18d
ISBN: 9781787587359

About the Author
Martin Edwards (Editor) is the author of eighteen novels, including the Lake District Mysteries, and the Harry Devlin series. His ground-breaking genre study The Golden Age of Murder has won the Edgar, Agatha, and H.R.F. Keating awards. He has edited twenty eight crime anthologies, has won the CWA Short Story Dagger and the CWA Margery Allingham Prize, and is series consultant for the British Library's Crime Classics. In 2015, he was elected eighth President of the Detection Club, an office previously held by G.K. Chesterton, Agatha Christie, and Dorothy L. Sayers.

The CWA (Crime Writers' Association) was founded in 1953 by John Creasey, and organises the prestigious CWA Dagger Awards which celebrate the best in crime writing. The CWA is a pro-active, thriving and ever-expanding community of writers based in the UK but with a reach that extends worldwide.
View full details