New Kid

New Kid

Regular price
$12.94
Sale price
$12.94
Regular price
$12.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act



Author: Jerry Craft
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Published: 02/05/2019
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 1.20lbs
Size: 8.90h x 5.90w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780062691194
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 2.9
Point Value: 2
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 500606 / New Kid

Award: Newbery Medal - Winner
Award: Coretta Scott King Award - Winner

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 11/01/2018 pg. 78
Booklist 11/15/2018 pg. 39
Publishers Weekly 11/26/2018
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2019 pg. 88
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 01/01/2019
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above Average