Skip to product information
1 of 1

Atheneum Books

Once Upon a Camel

Once Upon a Camel

Regular price $17.98 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $17.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
"A delight to the senses." --Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this exquisite middle grade novel from Newbery Honoree and National Book Award finalist Kathi Appelt follows a creaky old camel out to save two baby kestrel chicks during a massive storm in the Texas desert--filled with over a dozen illustrations by Caldecott winner Eric Rohmann.

Zada is a camel with a treasure trove of stories to tell. She's won camel races for the royal Pasha of Smyrna, crossed treacherous oceans to new land, led army missions with her best camel friend by her side, and outsmarted a far too pompous mountain lion.

But those stories were from before. Now, Zada wanders the desert as the last camel in Texas. She's not, however, alone. Two tiny kestrel chicks are nestled in the fluff of fur between her ears--kee-killy-keeing for their missing parents--and a dust storm the size of a mountain is taking Zada on one more grand adventure. And it could lead to this achy old camel's most brilliant story yet.

Author: Kathi Appelt
Publisher: Atheneum Books
Published: 09/07/2021
Pages: 336
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.97lbs
Size: 7.60h x 5.60w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781534406438
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.6
Point Value: 6
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 512793 / Once Upon a Camel


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2021
Booklist 07/01/2021 pg. 84
Publishers Weekly 08/09/2021

About the Author
Kathi Appelt is the author of the Newbery Honoree, National Book Award finalist, and bestselling The Underneath as well as the National Book Award finalist The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp, Maybe a Fox (with Alison McGhee), Keeper, and many picture books including Counting Crows and Max Attacks. She has two grown children and lives in College Station, Texas, with her husband. Visit her at KathiAppelt.com.

Eric Rohmann is the Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator of My Friend Rabbit and received a Caldecott Honor for Time Flies. He has both written and illustrated numerous books for children, including Bulldozer's Big Day, Honeybee, and most recently Bulldozer's Christmas Dig, all written by Candace Fleming. He lives in Oak Park, Illinois.
View full details