Roller Girl

Roller Girl

Regular price
$12.94
Sale price
$12.94
Regular price
$12.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school... in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power

Author: Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Dial Books
Published: 03/10/2015
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 1.22lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.50w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780803740167
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 3.2
Point Value: 2
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 173345 / Roller Girl


Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 12/01/2014 pg. 129
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2014
Publishers Weekly 01/26/2015
Booklist 03/01/2015 pg. 42
Horn Book Magazine 03/01/2015 pg. 99
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 04/01/2015 pg. 404 - Book Of Special Distinction
Kirkus Best Middle Grade Books 11/15/2015 pg. 79
PW Children's Starred Reviews 12/02/2015 pg. 87

About the Author
Victoria Jamieson received her BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design. She worked as a children's book designer before moving to Portland and becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league.