Skip to product information
1 of 1

Henry Holt & Company

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Regular price $15.18 USD
Regular price $16.98 USD Sale price $15.18 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock: 10 left

A 2020 Newbery Honor Recipient!

Christian McKay Heidicker, author of the Thieves of Weirdwood trilogy, draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship.

Clever and harrowing. --The Wall Street Journal

Into the finest tradition of storytelling steps Christian McKay Heidicker with these highly original, bone-chilling, and ultimately heart-warming stories. All that's needed is a blazing campfire and a delicious plate of peaches and centipedes." --Kathi Appelt, Newbery Award honoree and National Book Award finalist

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

A Booklist 2019 Editors' Choice Selection

Author: Christian McKay Heidicker
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Published: 07/30/2019
Pages: 320
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.10lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.40w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9781250181428
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.4
Point Value: 9
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 504293 / Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Award: Newbery Medal - Honor Book

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 05/15/2019
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2019
Booklist 08/01/2019 pg. 82
Publishers Weekly 09/02/2019
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Recommended, Satisfactory

About the Author

Christian McKay Heidicker reads and writes and drinks tea. Thanks to his demon-hunting cat, he feels completely protected from evil spirits. Christian is the author of Scary Stories for Young Foxes (a Newbery Honor book), Cure for the Common Universe and Attack of the 50 Foot Wallflower, and the co-author (with William Shivering) of Thieves of Weirdwood. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah.
cmheidicker.com

View full details