Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dial Books

Secret Pizza Party

Secret Pizza Party

Regular price $16.08 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $16.08 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Shhhh Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos and Robo-Sauce

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course
But shhh It's a secret In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn't already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012

Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids' lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri--whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor--shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity: 'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh.-Publishers Weekly, starred review

Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly. Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties. -San Francisco Chronicle

The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos. -Kirkus Reviews

The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons. -School Library Journal

Author: Adam Rubin
Publisher: Dial Books
Published: 09/03/2013
Pages: 40
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 10.00h x 10.20w x 0.30d
ISBN: 9780803739475
Audience: Baby-Preschool

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 2.3
Point Value: 0.5
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 162315 / Secret Pizza Party


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 06/10/2013
Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2013
School Library Journal 08/01/2013 pg. 89
Booklist 09/01/2013 pg. 126
New York Times Book Review 09/15/2013 pg. 20
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 11/01/2013 pg. 177
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2014 pg. 43 - Below Average, With Minor Flaw

About the Author
Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri are the creative team behind several delicious picture books. Adam's pizza of choice is pepperoni, while Daniel prefers his with mushrooms. They both live in New York City, pizza capital of the world.

View full details