Small Walt

Small Walt

Regular price
$17.94
Sale price
$17.94
Regular price
$17.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"It's a perfect book for revving up small helpers to pitch in with the shoveling."--The Wall Street Journal

"Charming and endearing." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt." --School Library Journal

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt,
I plow and I salt.
They say I'm small,
but I'll show them all.

Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard! All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong.

Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt's affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn't matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal's wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.

Author: Elizabeth Verdick
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Published: 10/31/2017
Pages: 40
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.92lbs
Size: 9.10h x 9.10w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9781481448451
Audience: Ages 4-8

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 2.4
Point Value: 0.5
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 194531 / Small Walt


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2017 pg. 174
Publishers Weekly 07/31/2017
School Library Journal 10/01/2017
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 11/01/2017
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2018 pg. 25 - Below Average, With Minor Flaw

About the Author
Elizabeth Verdick has written more than thirty books for toddlers to teens. She collaborated with Marc Rosenthal on Small Walt, which Kirkus Reviews called "reminiscent of Virginia Burton's classics" in a starred review; and its sequel, Small Walt and Mo the Tow. She is also the author of Bike & Trike, illustrated by Brian Biggs. She is a graduate of the Hamline University MFA program and lives in Woodbury, Minnesota. Learn more at ElizabethVerdick.com.

Marc Rosenthal is the New York Times bestselling illustrator of many books for children, including Small Walt by Elizabeth Verdick; the Bobo series by Eileen Rosenthal; The Straight Line Wonder by Mem Fox; and Phooey!, which he wrote. Marc's illustrations can be seen regularly in The New Yorker, Time, Forbes, Fortune, The Atlantic, The New York Times, The Boston Globe, The Washington Post, and others. Visit him online at Marc-Rosenthal.com.