Skip to product information
1 of 1

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Symptoms of Being Human

Symptoms of Being Human

Regular price $9.75 USD
Regular price $11.98 USD Sale price $9.75 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in ber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.



Author: Jeff Garvin
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Published: 11/14/2017
Pages: 368
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.57lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.20w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9780062382870
Age Range: 13-17

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.2
Point Value: 12
Interest Level: Upper Grade
Quiz #/Name: 190468 / Symptoms of Being Human
View full details