Skip to product information
1 of 1

Margaret K. McElderry Books

The Accidental Apprentice

The Accidental Apprentice

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

57 in stock

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this "wholesome, delightful" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut--perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town's mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town's most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay's horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he's always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.

Author: Amanda Foody
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Published: 03/30/2021
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.60w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781534477568
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 5.2
Point Value: 9
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 512711 / Accidental Apprentice


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 01/15/2021
Publishers Weekly 05/24/2021

About the Author
Amanda Foody is the author of Daughter of the Burning City, The Shadow Game series, and the Wilderlore series. Formerly an accountant preparing taxes for multinational corporations, Amanda lives in Massachusetts with Jelly Bean, a feline beastly companion. Visit her at AmandaFoody.com.

View full details