Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dial Books

The Book of Mistakes

The Book of Mistakes

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which mistakes can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges... they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go , it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.

Author: Corinna Luyken
Publisher: Dial Books
Published: 04/18/2017
Pages: 56
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.30lbs
Size: 11.70h x 9.80w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9780735227927
Audience: Ages 4-8

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 2.4
Point Value: 0.5
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 189687 / Book of Mistakes


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2017 pg. 136
Booklist 04/15/2017 pg. 53
BookPage 05/01/2017
Publishers Weekly 05/01/2017
School Library Journal 06/01/2017
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2017 pg. 45 - Recommended, Satisfactory

About the Author
Corinna Luyken grew up in different cities along the West Coast, and after studying at Middlebury College, she settled in Washington State, where she draws inspiration from nature, her family, and the human form. She got the idea for The Book of Mistakes by doing art activities with children in schools. This is her debut book.

View full details