The Cardboard Kingdom

The Cardboard Kingdom

Regular price
$12.94
Sale price
$12.94
Regular price
$12.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.

A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have. --Kirkus, Starred

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters--and their own inner demons--on one last quest before school starts again.

In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be--imagine that

The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS * THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL * A TEXAS BLUEBONNET 2019-20 MASTER LIST SELECTION

There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme. --Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy

A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum. --Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever

Author: Chad Sell
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Published: 06/05/2018
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 1.10lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.60w x 0.80d
ISBN: 9781524719388
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 2.4
Point Value: 1
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 195539 / Cardboard Kingdom


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 04/01/2018 pg. 114
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2018 - Book Of Special Distinction
School Library Journal 04/01/2018 pg. 125
Booklist 05/15/2018 pg. 37
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Recommended, Satisfactory

About the Author
Chad Sell grew up in a small town in central Wisconsin. He lived in a neighborhood much like the Cardboard Kingdom, where he and his friends bounded through backyards in imaginative games and outfits. He also drew a lot and came up with all kinds of colorful characters. His favorites were often the villains, because despite being different and misunderstood, they were powerful and confident, and they got the best costumes. Chad lives in Chicago with his husband and two cats.

Follow the creators of the kingdom on Twitter at @TheCardboardK.