Skip to product information
1 of 1

Pixel+ink

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt's Fire

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt's Fire

Regular price $17.08 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $17.08 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

45 in stock

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves is a great ride, but you don't have to take my word for it. --LeVar Burton Follow the world's greatest detective you've never heard of in this madcap middle grade mystery for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes.
After twelve-year-old John Boarhog's mom dies, the last thing he wants is to be schlepped off to the Jersey Home for Boys, where kids are forced to make skinny jeans for hipsters and are fed nothing but kale. Instead, he makes himself a snug home in the ceiling of the New York Museum of Natural History, where he reads anything he get his hands on and explores the artifacts afterhours. But when a rare Egyptian ruby--the highlight of the museum's new exhibit--goes missing, John is accused of the crime. That is until the unpredictable Inspector Toadius McGee sweeps in to wrestle control of the case, certain that the true culprit is a notorious criminal he's been tracking for years. John quickly becomes the Watson to Toadius's Holmes as they race from Broadway to back alleys to a speak-easy that only serves root beer. And along the way, John uncovers secrets about his own past, including that he's a lot more involved in this web of endearing ne'er-do-wells than he ever could have imagined. A love letter to classic middle grade, Egypt's Fire introduces a remarkable new duo that will steal your heart as surely as it leaves you begging for their next grand adventure. A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Author: Tom Phillips
Publisher: Pixel+ink
Published: 06/07/2022
Pages: 352
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.02lbs
Size: 8.43h x 5.75w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781645951056
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 04/15/2022
School Library Journal 06/01/2022 pg. 73
Booklist 06/01/2022 pg. 82
View full details