Skip to product information
1 of 1

Scholastic Press

The Girl in the Lake

The Girl in the Lake

Regular price $16.08 USD
Regular price $17.98 USD Sale price $16.08 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

78 in stock

For fans of Small Spaces, Doll Bones, and Mary Downing Hahn, a truly chilling (and historically inspired) ghost story from the award-winning author of The Forgotten Girl.

Celeste knows she should be excited to spend two weeks at her grandparents' lake house with her brother, Owen, and their cousins Capri and Daisy, but she's not.

Bugs, bad cell reception, and the dark waters of the lake... no thanks. On top of that, she just failed her swim test and hates being in the water--it's terrifying. But her grandparents are strong believers in their family knowing how to swim, especially having grown up during a time of segregation at public pools.

And soon strange things start happening--the sound of footsteps overhead late at night. A flickering light in the attic window. And Celete's cousins start accusing her of pranking them when she's been no where near them!

Things at the old house only get spookier until one evening when Celeste looks in the steamy mirror after a shower and sees her face, but twisted, different...

Who is the girl in the mirror? And what does she want?

Past and present mingle in this spine-tingling ghost story by award-winning author India Hill Brown.



Author: India Hill Brown
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Published: 01/04/2022
Pages: 224
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.75lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.70w x 1.10d
ISBN: 9781338678888
Audience: Ages 9-12

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 11/01/2021
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 12/01/2021

About the Author
India Hill Brown is a southern belle who recently moved back down south to North Carolina after living in NYC and working at HBO. She is the author of the critically acclaimed middle grade novel The Forgotten Girl and she's also written for Teen Vogue, Essence, Sesi Mag, and The Everygirl.Visit her at booksandbighair.com or on Twitter at @booksandbighair.

View full details