The Great Mathemachicken: Hide and Go Beak

The Great Mathemachicken: Hide and Go Beak

Regular price
$12.94
Sale price
$12.94
Regular price
$12.98
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A new young chapter book series about a chicken who loves math, science, and learning new things--by New York Times bestselling author Nancy Krulik for fans of Unlimited Squirrel and Bumble and Bee.

Chirpy is a young chicken stuck in the family coop. But she's not like the other chickens who just sit around peck peck pecking all day. She's intrigued by the children who come home from a place called school. They always look so happy! (Well, most days.)

So Chirpy sneaks onto the bus one morning, hides in the classroom . . . and discovers a true love of math. When she shares what she's learned with the other chickens, they think she's one kernel short of a cob.

Even so, Chirpy is determined to find a formula for fowl success by pecking away. But when a hungry fox tries to attack the coop, can she find the equation for a simple solution?

With lively two-color art throughout and a fun hands-on simple machine activity, this eggs-ellent hilarious young chapter book series starter is a Grade-A pick for emerging readers to get them eggs-ited about science and math.

Author: Nancy Krulik
Publisher: Pixel+ink
Published: 01/18/2022
Pages: 96
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 9.10h x 6.10w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9781645950325
Audience: Ages 4-8

Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 11/08/2021
School Library Journal 01/01/2022 pg. 67

About the Author
Nancy Krulik is the author of more than 200 books for children and young adults, three of them New York Times bestsellers. Her series, including How I Survived Middle School, Katie Kazoo Switcheroo, George Brown, Class Clown, Magic Bone, Project Droid, Princess Pulverizer, and Ms. Frogbottom's Field Trips are beloved around the world.

Nancy lives in Manhattan with her husband, composer Daniel Burwasser. Visit her online at www.realnancykrulik.com.

Charlie Alder has written and illustrated many books for children, including Daredevil Duck and Chicken Break! She lives in Devon, England, with her husband and son. When not drawing chickens, Charlie can be found in her studio drinking coffee, arranging her crayons, and inventing more accidental animal heroes.

Visit her online at www.charliealder.com.