Skip to product information
1 of 1

World Editions

The High-Rise Diver

The High-Rise Diver

Regular price $16.13 USD
Regular price $16.98 USD Sale price $16.13 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Out of stock

For readers of The Handmaid's Tale, The Circle, and Brave New World comes a chilling and distressingly plausible dystopia which creates a world in which performance is everything and one woman's failure to achieve becomes another's downfall.

Riva is a "high-rise diver," a top athlete with millions of fans, and a perfectly functioning human on all levels. Suddenly she rebels, breaking her contract and refusing to train. Cameras are everywhere in her world, but she doesn't know her every move is being watched by Hitomi, the psychologist tasked with reining Riva back in. Unquestionably loyal to the system, Hitomi's own life is at stake: should she fail to deliver, she will be banned to the "peripheries," the filthy outskirts of society. For readers of The Handmaid's Tale, The Circle, and Brave New World, this chilling dystopia constructs a world uncomfortably close to our own, in which performance is everything.

Author: Julia Lucadou
Publisher: World Editions
Published: 03/02/2021
Pages: 288
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.75lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.40w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9781642860764

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 01/01/2021
Foreword 02/26/2021

About the Author
Julia von Lucadou was born in Heidelberg in 1982. She studied film and theater at Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz and Victoria University of Wellington and earned her PhD in Film Studies in 2015. Lucadou worked as both an assistant director and a television editor prior to writing The High-Rise Diver, her debut novel, which was nominated for the Swiss Book Prize in 2018. She splits her time between Biel, New York, and Cologne.

View full details